Music Makes Me Cry

For just this morning, right there on her pillow

Was the cruelest of any surprise

And she cried when she gathered it all in her hands

The proof that she couldn’t deny

And Sara Beth closes her eyes.

So I’m sitting here watching Couples Therapy on VH1 – yes,  I’m a reality show junkie – and they had this couple make a guest appearance to talk about their experiences and how they managed to overcome struggles throughout their marriage. This couple had a teenage daughter named Sara Elizabeth and she was diagnosed with cancer and eventually died from her disease. A songwriter wrote a song called “Sara Beth” about this young girl which was eventually picked up by Rascal Flatts. I posted some of the lyrics above, but it’s seriously the sweetest, saddest song ever. I was sitting there listening to this couple talk and watching this video about their life and their daughter with tears rolling down my face. Seriously, this made me cry like a baby.

It always amazes me how emotional I get from listening to certain songs, but I think that’s what is supposed to happen. These people put all their heart and soul into making these songs and they want us to feel connected, right? Well, I think so. There are so many songs that make me have such a strong emotional reaction.. another one is “The Moment I Knew” by Taylor Swift. But I’ll get into that another day. Do you have any songs that do this to you??

UPDATE: Apparently the song by Rascal Flatts is actually called “Skin,” but the original title from the songwriter was “Sara Beth.” Sorry for the confusion!

2 thoughts on “Music Makes Me Cry

  1. Yes, definitely! I always feel as though music IS my life playing out to some catchy or beautiful tune. “Stupid Boy” by Keith Urban, “A Broken Wing” by Martina McBride, and “Stronger” by Sara Evans. Those are just some of the sappy ones.

Leave A Comment

