How I Discovered Wax Paper Is Not The Same As Parchment Paper

While as I mentioned in yesterday’s post, my work is having a bake sale today for the National Kidney Foundation – I work on a renal floor, so yeah. I found this recipe on Pinterest for cookies with chocolate chips, peanut butter chips and pretzels – and it looked awesome!

IMG_4833-1

Mine did not look like this.

Now as I also mentioned, I’ve been fighting off an annoying cold for almost 2 weeks now and my mind has been a little bit scattered. So my baking adventure yesterday started off a little bit shaky when I realized I didn’t have baking soda – I only had baking powder. Thanks to Google, I managed to solve that problem. After I got my cookies in the oven, I started working on yesterday’s post when I realized I smelled something burning.. and when I went to check on my cookies, I realized smoke was rapidly filling up inside my oven!!

APPARENTLY wax paper is not the same as parchment paper. I have no idea how I’ve never discovered this before. I’m not even sure why I have wax paper if it can’t be put in the oven?? But thank goodness it didn’t actually catch on fire – which is what terrified me because I was home alone and scared of disaster – but it seriously almost made my whole downstairs fill up with smoke. Obviously I didn’t think to take a picture, but use your imagination.

smokingoven2

Anyway, the cookies managed to turn out awesome! They don’t look as perfect as the cookies from the original website (and I’m definitely not a professional food photographer!), but my dear hubby said they tasted super yummy!

002

My little sidekick in the background.

Thanks again to Pinterest for yet another winning recipe!

2 thoughts on “How I Discovered Wax Paper Is Not The Same As Parchment Paper

  1. I can honestly say that I didn’t know that there was a difference either. Goodness gracious! So that makes TWO of us at least! HA. Love your “clip art” of what was happening inside your oven… and love little sidekick in the background waiting for the cookie (…or I mean giving you moral support) 😉

Leave A Comment

