Holidaze

This cloudy, cold, windy, dark weather has been KICKING MY BUTT. So here I am blogging in the attempt to keep myself awake since I have to work tomorrow night and can’t be going to bed at 10pm!

First – TV show updates! – The hubby and I finally watched the mid season finale of The Walking Dead – wooo, things are getting crazy! Then after he went to bed (way early because of not feeling good) I got myself caught up on Teen Mom 2, Gossip Girl (oh my god!!) and now Toddlers & Tiaras. I can’t even begin to talk about how crazy some of these shows are getting! Mainly Gossip Girl. I’m pretty sure I still have chills. Wowwww.

So anyway, the main reason behind this update is Christmas and the holidays! Or holidaze – considering my current mindset. My family is not the type to have elaborate or expensive traditions. Honestly, I can’t even think of too many. We would always have a huge family dinner on Christmas Eve, but other than that.. I can only think of two traditions that we did every year.

One – Christmas pajamas. On Christmas Eve, everyone gets a new pair of pajamas that they’re supposed to wear that night so when we wake up to open presents on Christmas Day.. we all have our awesome new pj’s on! I saw a pin on Pinterest about doing this when you have children – you can include pajamas and favorite snacks for everyone and then a holiday movie to watch before going to bed on Christmas Eve. I love it! Also, I found this.

001

Our new pajamas

Two – the pickle ornament. I actually had to look this up on Wikipedia because I never really knew the meaning behind it. We just always had a pickle ornament and we always had so much fun looking for and hiding the ornament. Click here to read the meaning behind this tradition.

And this year I’ve decided we’re going to start a new holiday tradition for OUR family. It’s our first holiday in our first house so I figured it’s the perfect time to start finding new traditions. Since we don’t currently have any nice or original ornaments, we’re going to buy a new ornament every year to add to our tree. This way we can start getting rid of the cheap, crappy ones from Walmart and Target and start building our ornament collection. As of right now, our first (tradition) ornament is the pickle.. but we’ll see if I find something else before Christmas because our pickle was only $5 from Target lol

002

Our pickle ornament

Well I guess I’m done because it’s been 3 hours and I can’t seem to focus and I have a furry little dog sleeping on my left arm. It’s quiteee difficult to type with one hand!

What traditions do you do every year?

One thought on “Holidaze

  1. Pingback: The Walking Dead | UK Gaming Consoles & Video Games for Xbox 360, PS3, Wii, DS, 3DS, PS2, PSP, Used & PC

Leave A Comment

