30 Day “What If” Challenge – Day 4

Day 4 :  What if one song were to describe your life, what song would it be?

Well, I’m not usually the type to say “Oh, this song is so me!” Yes, some songs make me more emotional than others. And yes, I sometimes think a song is very similar to my life. But honestly, I doubt I could ever listen to a song and feel like the song was describing me. So I may not be answering this question appropriately (I’m sorry!), but I’m just going to talk about a song that means a lot to me and a song that always makes me think about my life when I listen to it.

taylor swift

From Google Images.

The song I choose is – “The Moment I Knew” by Taylor Swift. Here’s some of the lyrics:

And it was like slow motion
Standing there in my party dress
In red lipstick
With no one to impress
And they’re all laughing
And asking me about you
But there’s one thing missing
And that was the moment I knew

What do you say
When tears are streaming down your face
In front of everyone you know
And what do you do when the one
Who means the most to you
Is the one who didn’t show

You should’ve been here..
And I would’ve been so happy.

((When you listen to the whole song, I believe it’s about a girl getting stood up by her boyfriend at her birthday party. But that’s not why I like this song or why I feel like I connect with this song.))

The first time I heard this song it made me think about my wedding day and how my grandparents weren’t there. It makes me think about my wedding day and how my dad wasn’t there. It just makes me think about every big day in my life and how there’s so many people that should’ve been there..  but they weren’t.

But the reason I love this song so much..

My grandfather was one of the most important people in my life. We were so incredibly close for as long as I can remember. I always imagined him walking me down the aisle on my wedding day.. so when he passed away less than 6 weeks before my wedding, I was crushed. Beyond crushed. And now every time I listen to this song, it just makes me think about him. It makes me think about how he should’ have been there. How I would’ve done anything to have him there.

Do you have a song that describes your life?

Leave A Comment

